After a Year, Lexi Thompson Talks About the Lexi Rule

After a Year, Lexi Thompson Talks About the  Lexi Rule

Lexi Thompson was on the 13th tee of the final round of the ANA Inspiration tournament last year when she was surprised to discover that she was being docked four strokes for replacing her ball in the wrong spot after marking it in the third round. She eventually lost to Korean Golfer Ryu So Yeon.

Lexi Thompson was on the 13th tee of the final round of the ANA Inspiration tournament last year when she was surprised to discover that she was being docked four strokes for replacing her ball in the wrong spot after marking it in the third round. She eventually lost to Korean Golfer Ryu So Yeon.

She was informed of the docking of the four-stroke penalty. The penalty was issued due to a phone call by a TV viewer who noticed that she was replacing her ball in the wrong spot on the previous day. She received two docked shots for that and an additional two more shots for signing an incorrect scorecard.

This violation she made against the rules, and the subsequent punishment has cost Thompson a lot of grief, aside from her victory. But this controversial move even had us at 777iGame wondering what will happen in the future for rules violations in golf tournaments.

“Lexi Thompson” flickr photo by Keith Allison https://flickr.com/photos/keithallison/14725939754 shared under a Creative Commons (BY-SA) license

This has, however, allowed for a new international golf rule that changes the limitations on video evidence, among other things, that is called the “Lexi Rule”. Now, if your alleged violation cannot be seen with the naked eye, you cannot be penalized for it. Also, golfers will no longer be penalized for signing erroneous scorecards if they are not aware of the error. When asked about this, Lexi Thompson expressed her joy about the new rule. “I’m just happy the rule changed so nobody else can be put through what I was put through last year”, Thompson said.

We at 777iGame are happy to hear that this issue is being addressed to help golfers focus more on their games and less on what people will see and say about them. If you look at it, its basically a pro golfer, who has nine LPGA victories, plus one Major title, lost any chance of victory at the ANA Inspiration all because of an armchair golf fan who took notice of Thompson replacing her ball at the wrong area of the green and reported it. A fan, it could have been any of us, noticed something that the ruling body of golf did not. It was really quite embarrassing, and aside from the Lexi Rule, the tours will now have golf and tournament officials monitoring televised golf feeds to make sure that any potential violations to the game that was missed live in the course will be reported and addressed in real time.

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply